What is a Moral University in the 21st Century?

Vaniceseasonal's Blog

THANKS;Jeffrey Sachs
Speech at Columbia University
March 30, 2015

I’m grateful for the opportunity to speak today on the question “What is a Moral University in the 21st Century?” I want to thank Dr. Robert Klitzman, Professor of Psychiatry and Director of the Masters of Bioethics Program at the Columbia University Medical Center, for taking the initiative to call the faculty together to examine this question. And I want to thank our many colleagues who responded to that call. I hope that today’s lecture will help us to move forward not only in debating the question but also in helping Columbia University to be a moral university. As I will describe, I believe that we share the task of building a moral community, not so much in Kant’s sense that we have the duty to do so, but in Aristotle’s sense that by doing so we will flourish as a…

View original post 4,847 more words

